Social Studies

The Hollis Brookline K-12 Social Studies philosophy gives special attention to the National Council of Social Studies standards. Developed and published during the mid-1990ís, these standards are based on ten thematic strands common to the social sciences. Following these standards provides our teachers and students the opportunity to master social studies content encompassing more than one discipline. In addition, the State of New Hampshire has developed and adopted its own social studies standards as criteria for measuring student performance. Hollis Brookline School District aligns its Social Studies curriculum to the state standards and the National Council for Social Studies ten thematic strands to produce effective classroom learning experiences. Following are the Ten Thematic Standards:

  1. Culture
  2. Time, Continuity and Change
  3. People, Places and Environments
  4. Individual Development and Identity
  5. Individuals, Groups, and Institutions
  6. Power, Authority, and Government
  7. Production, Distribution, and Consumption
  8. Science, Technology, and Society
  9. Global Connections
  10. Civic Ideals and Practices

The K-12 Social Studies Curriculum for SAU 41 strives to create civic understanding and responsibility both locally and globally, cultural diversity, proficient individual and corporate economic skills, respect for individuals, groups, and institutions, and a societal awareness of the balance between science and technology. To this end, our students will become active citizens of the communities of Hollis and Brookline, our state, our nation, and the world.

Social Studies Curriculum Guide

Curriculum Binders are available in all district schools and the SAU office.
A web-based curriculum guide is under construction.